The parliamentary procedure to elect a new president commenced today with the presenting of the nominations for the position. 

The names of three Members of Parliament were proposed and seconded in the Parliament today (19) for the vacancy of the Presidency.

The names of Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe, SLPP MP Dullas Alahapperuma and NPP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake were officially nominated for the presidency, after the parliamentary session commenced.

MP Dullas Alahapperuma was nominated for the post by Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa while it was seconded by Foreign Minister Prof. G.L. Peiris.

Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe’s name was nominated for the presidency by Leader of the House and Minister Dinesh Gunawardena and it was seconded by Minister Manusha Nanayakkara. 

National People’s Power (NPP) leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake’s name was nominated for the post of President by MP Vijitha Herath and seconded by MP Harini Amarasuriya. 

Subsequently, the Secretary General of Parliament Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake announced that the nominations of these three candidates were accepted for Succeeding President in accordance with the Presidential Elections (Special Provisions) Act No. 2 of 1981.

Thus, tomorrow (20) one of these three MPs is to be elected as the Succeeding President by the votes of the Members of Parliament.

Accordingly, the parliamentary session was subsequently adjourned until 10.00 a.m. tomorrow (20), when MPs will vote to elect a new president, who will serve out the remainder of former president Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s term until November 2024.

Last week (14) the former President had sent his resignation letter to the Speaker. Accordingly, the Parliament was summoned on 16th and the Secretary General of the Parliament announced to the House that the office of the President has become vacant. 

Also, he announced that nominations will be accepted from the Members of Parliament to fill the vacancy. Accordingly, today (19) nominations for the post of President were accepted.