The Public Finance Committee which met today, unanimously appointed SJB MP Harsha de Silva as its new Chairman.

He has been appointed as per Standing Orders 121 and in accordance with a prior agreement reached by all parties.

The committee approved the revised budget and the proposed Social Security Tax Bill at the meeting .

Also the committee approved the regulations that are to be imposed under the Exchange Rate Bill No 12 of 201 and also the regulations under the Special Commodity Levy Bill.